Microsoft SQL Server RELEASES

Microsoft SQL Server is a relational database management system developed by Microsoft. As a database its primary function is to store and retrieve data as requested by other software applications, be it those on the same computer or those running on another computer across a network (including the Internet). There are several different editions of Microsoft SQL Server aimed at different audiences and for workloads ranging from small single-machine applications to large Internet-facing applications with many concurrent users. Its primary query languages are T-SQL and ANSI SQL.

below is the chart of its different release/versions

Version Year Release Name Codename
1 1989 SQL Server 1.0

(16 bit)

Ashton-Tate /

Microsoft SQL Server

1.1 1991 SQL Server 1.1

(16 bit)

4.21 1993 SQL Server 4.21 SQLNT
6 1995 SQL Server 6.0 SQL95
6.5 1996 SQL Server 6.5 Hydra
7 1998 SQL Server 7.0 Sphinx
7 1999 SQL Server 7.0 Palato mania
8 2000 SQL Server 2000 Shiloh
8 2003 SQL Server 2000

64-bit Edition

9 2005 SQL Server 2005 Yukon
10 2008 SQL Server 2008 Katmai
10.25 2010 Azure SQL DB Cloud Database

or CloudDB

10.5 2010 SQL Server 2008 R2 Kilimanjaro (aka KJ)
11 2012 SQL Server 2012 Denali
12 2014 SQL Server 2014 SQL14

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s